Updated: Jul 20, 2020
Required Landlord Disclosures in Indiana Under Indiana law, landlords must disclose specific
information to tenants (usually in the lease or rental agreement), such as the identity of anyone authorized to act on the landlord’s behalf.
Indiana Security Deposit Limit and Return Indiana state law does not limit how much a landlord can charge for a security deposit. However, it does limit when it must be returned (within 45 days after a tenant moves) and sets other restrictions on deposits.
Small Claims Lawsuits in Indiana Tenants can sue landlords in small claims court for the return of their deposit, up to a dollar amount of $6,000.
Indiana Notice Required to Raise Rent and Other Rent Rules State law regulates several rent-related issues, including the amount of notice (at least 30 days in Indiana unless the rental agreement states otherwise) landlords must give tenants to raise the rent and how much time (ten days in Indiana) a tenant has to pay rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.
Indiana Termination and Eviction Rules State laws specify when and how a landlord may terminate a tenancy. For example, a landlord may give an Indiana tenant without a lease who has committed waste an unconditional quit notice. If the tenant does not move out immediately the landlord can file for eviction.